top of page

Hidalgo County

Hidalgo County is the seventh largest of the 254 counties in Texas. It is home to 22 cities, anchored by the McAllen, Edinburg, Pharr and Mission metropolitan statistical area — the fifth-largest in the state. The county was formed in 1852 and is named for Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla, a priest who raised the call for Mexico's independence from Spanish rule. It is bordered by Cameron County on the east, Brooks County on the north, Starr County on the west and Mexico on the south. 

Image by Sincerely Media

The Economic Development Office:

  • Seeks to promote infrastructure development in rural areas within Hidalgo County. 

  • Assists with workforce development by attracting businesses that offer significant numbers of new jobs. 

  • Encourages economic diversity by attracting businesses that will broaden the scope of the local economy.

  • Advocates for education by promoting partnerships with educational institutions to increase education accessibility.

  • Enhances the County tax base by attracting development investments.

bottom of page